Information for Residency Classification
A Florida resident for tuition purposes is a person who has maintained legal residence in the State of Florida for the 12 months immediately preceding the first day of the full term for which enrollment is requested. The residence status of the dependent student is considered to be that of the parent or legal guardian of the student.
A dependent student is any person who is eligible to be claimed by a parent/legal guardian for Internal Revenue purposes. If the student is under 24 years of age, MTC will assume that the student is a dependent student, and the parent/legal guardian must complete the Residence Statement below.
The Florida Legislature has established a limited number of categories for the granting of in-state residence status to individuals who do not meet the 12 month requirement. The most common categories are included in the Residence Statement (FS1009.21).
If you or your parent/legal guardian have lived in Florida for the required 12 month period, and you do not find a category for your specific situation, please describe your status on a separate sheet of paper, attach supporting documentation, and submit this information with your completed Residency Classification form.